My first baptism and Mo-Val Spanish Land! (week 5)

This week was hard but great!  We are having a hard time with our investigators progressing right now, but we had our first baptism which was so great!  Dan and Dawson Hoover are the best!  I remember my first lesson at Dan’s house….I walked in and said “Thanks for letting us come over and teach a lesson”.  He got pretty mad that I said that because he was a former member and he thought he knew everything.  He’s a 72 year old Vietnam Veteran and he had some stories to tell.  The one that most influenced him was when he was stuck in the middle of a field with a wounded pilot having enemy fire coming in all directions.  He said a little prayer promising the Lord that he would do everything he could to come closer to Him when he got home and 10 seconds later the fire ceased.  That’s just one of the many stories he has told us about his time as a marine.  I love the Hoover’s!

Friday I was able to go on my first exchange!  It was in Moreno Valley with a Spanish sister.  It was so cool!  I knew a lot more Spanish than I thought I did.  It was so easy to bond with the people there because they reminded me of my family.  Some of them even asked if I could come back next week.  The sister I was with even let me eat at Portillo’s for lunch!  It was the best and it reminded me of home.  🙂

My favorite experience this week was when I was down and the Lord picked me back up.  We had a really great investigator who was a young girl from Africa and her brother.  They were looking for a church to join and after we had taught them a lesson, they agreed to meet with us again.  The phone number they had given us was disconnected so we stopped by only to find out that they looked things up on the internet against the gospel and weren’t interested anymore.  I was really sad and discouraged.  We stopped by this woman’s home who was 93 years old and we were planning on sharing a message with her about prayer.  She ended up teaching us about prayer and how the adversary doesn’t want us to be happy.  I just knew Heavenly Father was mindful of us.

Love and miss you all!

Sister Meza

Now for some pics…..

The Hoover's Baptism!
The Hoover’s Baptism!
Went hiking with the Zone in Idywild.
Went hiking with the Zone in Idywild.
This was after the hike
This was after the hike

DSCN0574 (4)

We helped this woman clean out a camper and found a bunch of black widow spiders!!! :/
We helped this woman clean out a camper and found a bunch of black widow spiders!!! :/
We also found a couple dead cats.  :(
We also found a couple dead cats. 😦
My MTC comp!
My MTC comp!
The fires in California
The fires in California
Portillo's in Moreno Valley!
Portillo’s in Moreno Valley!
Biking by the trailer parks :)
Biking by the trailer parks 🙂
The view behind my Bishop's home.
The view behind my Bishop’s home.
Leave a Reply

