Getting Transferred and Seeing my Trainer Go Home (week 13)

This week has been crazy!  Sister Olsen is going home and I’m getting transferred to a new area!  They are switching me from the smallest area in the mission to the largest!  I love the area I’m in now–I know every street and most of the people in this part of Hemet know who we are.  We would be walking down the street and have a bunch of people say “Hi!” because we’ve talked to them before.  This part of the mission has a lot of success–Sister Olsen and I hit mission standard every week.

My new area is Anza and Idyllwild and I’ll be driving a truck and living in a trailer!  lol!  The houses are super spread out and most of the work is done through referrals.  My new companion is Sister Springer who is super fun!  I have a bunch of pictures of her already on my blog.

I’m really sad that Sister Olsen is leaving.  She is the best missionary and the most Christlike person I have ever met!   She will take the short end of the stick in every situation and she will go out of her way to make anyone feel good.  For example, she bought some doughnuts for a group of homeless men this morning.  She offers to make me food every day and has never said a bad word about anyone.  She is so very patient with me and most importantly, she is close to the spirit at all times.  She is always recognizing ways we can do more service and improve as missionaries.  I know that the Lord’s hand was in the decision to put us as companions.  I was put with her to learn how to be more compassionate to people and to stop thinking about myself.  I have learned and grown up so much from her example and she will be very missed by me and all of the people here.

The area I’m leaving is the Valle Vista Ward in Hemet.  It is one of the strongest wards I have ever been in and all of the families here are powerhouses!  I love Brenna Fouts who is leaving for a mission in Mexico at the end of September; Kelby Romeril who just got home from a mission in Argentina; and Sarah Maness who got home from her mission in Boise, Idaho, the weekend I got here.  Sarah took me on my first split the first day in the mission field and I remember being terrified!  There were a few different areas the Valle Vista West covered, including 3 mobile home parks.  It took us 15 minutes to ride our bike from the top of my area to the botton.  The Hoover’s, our recent convert family, is doing great!  Dawson passed us the sacrament Sunday which was really cool and he’s been going to seminary every day before school!  Last night we had pie with them…I love that family!  Sister Roberts and Sister Da Silva are taking over the area so I know it’s in great hands!  🙂

Have a great week!  Love and miss you all!

Sister Meza

The Zone!
The Zone!
My new companion, Sister Springer! (on the right)
My new companion, Sister Springer! (on the right)
Taj, our investigator!
Taj, our investigator!
The Hoover's!
The Hoover’s!
A typical day
A typical day

DSCN1165

Our area
Our area
Our park!...aka the greenest part of Hemet!
Our park!…aka the greenest part of Hemet!
I'm going to miss these sisters!
I’m going to miss these sisters!
Our apartment building.
Our apartment building.
Dinner at Grandma's...aka Sister Peirson.
Dinner at Grandma’s…aka Sister Pearson.
Sister Olsen, Brenna, and me
Sister Olsen, Brenna, and me
Sister Olsen, Kelby and me
Sister Olsen, Kelby and me
The Sulliven's!...a recent convert family who we taught a lot!
The Sulliven’s!…a recent convert family who we taught a lot!
Leave a Reply

