CPR for the Soul (week 33)

What a week!  The weather up here has been rain rain rain!  Last week I was sick 2 1/2 days with what felt like a bad cold.  It couldn’t have happened at a better time with all the bipolar weather here — rain and snow!  That was a blessing.  We were still able to teach a lot of lessons and get a lot done.  Since most of the roads we drive are dirt, they were really terrible this week.  At some points we would be driving through mud to get to lessons.  Luckily, we are blessed with a truck so it was fun!

I was able to spend Saturday in Jurupa Spanish area on another exchange with Hermana Burris, who will be leaving her mission the same time as me.  There will be about 10 sister missionaries leaving the same time I do, which is a crazy amount, especially for sisters.  There are only about 10 companionships of English sisters in my mission.  We are the minority next to the Chinese speaking and ASL Elder’s!  It’s so much fun and I love teaching the gospel in English!  Although every time I go to a Spanish area I feel terrible that I don’t know Spanish!  I am super determined to learn after my mission.  🙂  It was so different being back in a city!  I have gotten so used to doing missionary work in the country!

The best part of my week was definitely yesterday!  We were able to have a training by Elder Hamula of the Seventy.  I was on such a spiritual high!  Sister Mullen, our Mission President’s wife, talked to us about what we introduce to people we are teaching is not new to them spiritually, that we need to remind them of how the spirit feels like.  The spirit is so essential to us, not only for our conversion, but to help us with the many riggers of life!  One of the biggest blessings that the Lord has given me through the spirit was the answer to my prayers about whether or not I should go on a mission.  This is the most righteous preparation I could have in my life!  I feel like I was such a scrub before my mission (lol).  I know that my mission is shaping me into a better person and disciple of Jesus Christ.  President Mullen also talked to us about the Holy Ghost and how it brings us closer to Godliness and that the message we share is the good news of the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

Sister Hamula talked about God’s work and glory, which is to bring to pass the eternal life of men (Moses 1:39) and our work and glory in turn, is to bring to pass our eternal life by keeping the commandments of God.  Elder Hamula talked about a lot of things, but what stuck out to me the most was the totally new perspective I received about repentance.  I learned that repentance is a cry of love from our Father in Heaven!  3 Nephi 9:14 says “Yea, verily I say unto you, if ye will come unto me ye shall have eternal life.  Behold, mine arm of  mercy is extended towards you, and whosoever will come, him will I receive; and blessed are those who come unto me.” (that sounds like a hug!)  As we face trials and as we face sins, it’s what we do with them that determines our destiny!  Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father are always willing to help us.  We need to continually turn towards Christ to keep us on the path to return to live with Him again!  We can do that as we faithfully serve and live the gospel!  Something we teach out here is what I like to call CPR for the soul — going to Church, Praying, and Reading the scriptures.  That’s what going to help us turn towards our Father in Heaven!  “Repentance always means there is greater happiness ahead.” — Neil L. Anderson.  These are just a few tidbits of everything I learned from this wonderful meeting!

Hope you all have a great week and stay warm!

Love, Sister Meza

DSCN3062[1]

 

Leave a Reply

