One Year! (week 52)

Hey everyone!  So I have officially been serving the Lord for a year on May 20th!  I can’t believe it, time goes by way too fast.  I am so grateful for the person I am becoming through this experience.

The highlight of my week was being able to meet an apostle of the Lord, Elder D. Todd Christofferson!  What a wonderful experience it was.  The whole mission was able to get together for this event which never happens!  I got to see all the sisters that I love so dearly and will always be close to my heart. 🙂  There was also three other General Authorities there — Elder Misken of the Seventy; Elder Palmer of the Seventy; and Elder Christianson of the Presidency of the Seventy.  It was such a great and uplifting meeting.

From Elder Misken, I learned that God knows who you are and where you are.  That when the lonely times come, that we are truly never alone.  He is from Normal, Illinois (shout out).

Elder Palmer talked about when he was a Mission President he had an Elder with a terrible stutter, but because of this, he was able to touch a lot of peoples lives.  Although we all might have struggles that prevent us from being perfect, the Lord knows us and who we can touch with our imperfections.

Elder Christenson talked about conversion and how it is a mighty change!  I know that it is and I’ve seen it in the lives of the many people I have met here.  He also talked about how God sees the beginning and the end.  He saw me serving in the California Riverside Mission even before I decided to serve, only two years ago.  He also talked about the importance of prayer which I will talk about more in my email next week. 🙂

Elder Christofferson is so great!  He had everyone in the mission shake his hand and I haven’t washed mine since!  (just kidding)  He gave the whole mission a lot of time to ask questions which was so cool!  My favorite question someone asked was “how do we teach families that they can be together forever if one of the family members doesn’t accept the gospel?”  He talked about building a testimony in the Book of Mormon in the hearts of those who are seeking.  We can’t promise that any individual will act, but we must act as if it will happen.  God will not force his children to follow Him, but He will do everything He can to help us.  There are a lot of examples of families in the Book of Mormon where not everyone accepts and follows Jesus Christ.  But the grace of God is real and your love is never wasted!

For time sake, I am going to end here, but I hope you all have a fantastic week!

“Take the Lord’s smiles upon you and keep going” – Elder Christofferson

Love, Sister Meza

DSCN6744[1]
Sister Madrid and I hit one year!
DSCN6751[1]
Sister Haughawout 🙂
DSCN6750[1]
I missed Sister Roberts!!! I lived with her my first 2 transfers 🙂
DSCN6769[1]
I met him 🙂
DSCN6747[1]
Daughter + Granddaughter (mission lingo)
DSCN6715[1].JPG
Yep, we’re in Corona

Leave a Reply

